top of page
  • Writer's pictureTaylor Leigh Lamb

"shadow work"

Updated: Jun 22, 2023

written on august 24th, 2021


for years i ran from shame

i saw her lurking around the corner

and i'd do anything to stop her from touching me


somersaults, backflips

twisting and contorting into other people's expectations

just so she couldn't catch me


i would not feel her


i couldn't bear to feel her


every time i saw the dark specter looming i would run


the thought of shame

i couldn't bear it

i worried it would consume me whole


but then, i couldn't run anymore

she was too big, too encompassing

all i could do was look her in the face

let her in


i realized she wasn't what i thought she was at all


this shadow of "shame" was merely the things that i had pushed away from myself


too loud, too talkative, too argumentative, too sensitive, too inquisitive, too clumsy


all the things i'd been told made me unworthy

i tried to get them out, tried to push them away


the shadow got bigger and bigger

seeming closer each day, as it followed me wherever i went


but all this time, she wasn't chasing me to hurt me


she was me


parts of me trying to be reunited after i'd casted them away


now, i let it all in

shame can't be here anymore

cause i befriended the shadow


-------

transparency note: this is the first time i've shared any poetry since i was seventeen years old? i feel lots of anxiety! so be kind, thanks.




25 views1 comment

1 comentario


za9hn
06 sept 2022

🫶🏼 I love this

Me gusta
bottom of page