top of page
  • Writer's pictureTaylor Leigh Lamb

5 music videos I love

Updated: Mar 23, 2022

I spend so much time watching music videos. If I'm downstairs doing work, I'm more likely to throw a music video on YouTube instead of just streaming a playlist. When I have friends over for dinner, music videos go on in the background. Sometimes it's just background music, and other times the video becomes a talking piece. Music videos are so good! And I just don't think we spend enough time talking about how good music videos are.


So, here are 5 music videos I love to watch, in no particular order.

"Girls," Doechii


Doechii is a star. That is clear to me when engaging with any of her music, but in this video especially. I want to be where they are! Invite me to the next psychedelic sleepover, Doechii!


I've introduced multiple friends to this video, and they've all ended up adding the song to their rotation. One of my friends was like "wait, this is the same song?" once she switches up the flow three minutes in. and the answer is YES. she is that! dynamic!


I just love the premise. I miss BIG sleepovers like I had as a child. Will definitely be recreating a moment like this when I'm in a bigger place. (also, I have nowhere to wear it to, but I'm looking for that multicolored confetti outfit she wears in the latter half, and i'm going to get that too).


It doesn't hurt that Doechii will always make out with a beautiful woman in every video. I love that for them both.


"Set The Tone 2," Hitkidd ft. Aleza, Gloss Up, Glorilla, Slimeroni, K Carbon

If you haven't experienced the original Set the Tone, definitely watch that one as well. It was my obsession with that song that made me excited when this video dropped. And I have since watched it many, many, many times.


I just love these girls together, first of all. I've listened to some of their individual songs, even the ones where they're paired as a duo, and they're good! But it doesn't hit the same as when these five Memphis rappers are all on the track together.


My favorite thing about both this video and the other one is when they're all rapping each other's lyrics. I just love the camaraderie! I love the support! I love the constant reminder that the era of There Can Only Be One Female Rapperis over, that it was never really true at all. It's my favorite. And in this one, there are even more women serving looks and turning up to support them! I hope they had a great time.


I think my favorite verse is Slimeroni's but I really love them all.



"The Jungle Is The Only Way Out, (Visual EP)" Mereba


This is not simply a music video, but rather a visual EP for Mereba's debut studio album The Jungle Is The Only Way Out. It is so stunning! Mereba's music speaks to my soul in a particular way, and I feel like her and Dawit N.M. (the director) made images that speak to my soul in the same way. It's only seven minutes, so it's a short but rich viewing experience. I want to be where they are! Not only because the scenery is beautiful, but also because I can see love, care, intention, and community represented in their relationships. I want to be in this video's universe.


Also, ending with "I'm tryna get free" as they walk into the ocean is so powerful. And relatable! I'm tryna get free and walk into the ocean too!



"Broken Clocks," Sza


Sza is so multitalented. In addition to making brilliant music, she directs most of her music videos. Pretty much none of them are just clips of her singing in a location (no shade, that has its place), but most have a specific aesthetic vision and some have a narrative as well. A few of her music videos, like "Hit Different" and "Good Days" have clips at the end with snippets of other songs in a different vibe, which is something I adore. When I watch her videos on a playlist, I think of it as entering the Solana Cinematic Universe.


The CTRL album really held me when I was 20 years old, healing from heartbreak and thotting and bopping around new york city for the summer. I was so invested in that album that I was surprised when I stumbled upon this video in the last year, and realized I had missed it when it came out.


The sleep away camp vibes are so fun, and definitely make me wish I had attended one. But the ending bit where you realize what's really going on is both hilarious and disarming, and a delightful viewing experience. I have this one on heavy rotation.



"Up Late," Ari Lennox


Like I said, "singing in a location" music videos have their place! Especially when it's a location like this one. I know I've said this multiple times already but... I want to be where they are! I want to sit in this field and meditate while Ari sings and Masego plays the saxophone.


I've said vibes a few times in this post, and that's because vibe curation is a big part of what it means to direct a music video imo. Unlike a short film or something scripted, you don't have to adhere too strongly to a narrative. You really just have to set a vibe. And this one?? The monochromatic outfits and the backdrops, the open space, the wind ruffling the grass and the fur on the coat, the small intercut clips of Ari and a lover... they truly set the vibe!!!


These are just a small selection of music videos I watch many times a week. I'm probably going to share more of these, because I have so many more that I love. If you have a music video you love, send it my way!


—-

Subscribe to my blog so you never miss a post by scrolling to the bottom of this page and signing up for the mailing list.

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page