top of page
  • Writer's pictureTaylor Leigh Lamb

to all the books I read in 2021

Updated: Mar 23, 2022

I'm late so let's just get to it, shall we?


I love to read. I returned to reading in earnest in 2020, and continued that trend in 2021. I enjoyed pretty much every thing I read. And even when I didn't love them, I definitely learned something.


Here's what I read this year (If it's bold then I highly recommend):


Fiction

  • A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown

  • Octavia's Brood, edited by adrienne maree brown and Walidah Imarisha

  • Giovanni's Room by James Baldwin

  • Pet by Akwaeke Emezi

  • Another Country by James Baldwin

  • A Song Below Water by Bethany C. Morrow


Non-Fiction

  • Undrowned: Black Feminist Lessons from Marine Mammals by Alexis Pauline Gumbs

  • Nobody Knows My Name by James Baldwin

  • All Boys Aren't Blue by George M. Johnson

  • We Do This Til We Free Us by Mariame Kaba

  • You Were Born For This by Chani Nicholas

  • How to Do the Work by Dr. Nicole LePera

  • Codependent No More by Melody Beattie

  • Goodbye, Again by Jonny Sun

  • Unashamed: Musings of a Fat, Black Muslim by Leah Vernon

  • The Battle for Paradise by Naomi Klein

  • I Am Troy Davis by Jen Marlowe and Martina-Correia Davis, with Troy Davis

  • Class War, USA by Brandon Weber

  • Policing the Planet: Why The Policing Crisis Led to Black Lives Matter edited by Jordan T. Camp and Christina Heatherton

  • Disability Visibility, edited by Alice Wong

  • Radical Honesty by Brad Blanton

  • Salvation: Black People and Love by bell hooks

Bonus reading reflections:

  • I read so much more non fiction than fiction in the last year. I didn't actually realize that until seeing it in this format! I learn so much from reading non fiction, and one thing I love about it is even when I don't love the book (which is true for many on this list), I still learn so much. All that being said, I plan to read more fiction in 2022, because that is important to me as well.

  • In 2020, I learned how much I like poetry... and totally abandoned that in 2021. But don't worry, I just ordered some June Jordan. Stay tuned for next year's post.

  • I was in therapy for most of 2021, but I was also supplementing that work with readings about healing, codependency, radical honesty, and more. I think that was just as valuable to me as therapy. Therapy is not accessible to many people, but there's a lot of healing to be had outside of that type of interaction. Many of the answers can be found in books!

  • Non fiction does not mean lack of emotional response. On the contrary, the book that made me feel the most this year was I Am Troy Davis. I cried through the whole thing. I am begging you to read this book, and learn more about Troy's life and legacy here.

I'm proud of myself for continuing to commit to reading as a source of pleasure as well as a place to learn. Hmu if you wanna read with me in 2022.


—-

Subscribe to my blog so you never miss a post by scrolling to the bottom of this page and signing up for the mailing list.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page